Showing posts with label file. Show all posts
Showing posts with label file. Show all posts
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Save Text as Audio File Feature in Mac OS X Lion
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Is your PowerPoint file really got corrupted
Have you ever suffer with any PowerPoint file corruption error message. If yes then first answer these questions to ensure that your file is really corrupted:
Is your file password-protected?
If you are trying to open your password-protected file in previous version of PowerPoint then in this case you may also receive PowerPoint file corruption error message.
Did you receive this file by e-mail attachment?
If you receive file by email attachment & give an error message while you trying to open it then you should again try to download it & again try to open it. If you still get corruption error message then ask the sender to send it again.
Are you trying to open PowerPoint file created in a previous version?
If you are trying to open your file in previous version of PowerPoint then you may also receive file corruption error message. In this case you should Check for Updates option from the Help menu then install the Critical Update.
If all above conditions are not true then your file is really get corrupted.
Use following methods to resolve PowerPoint File Corruption.:
1. Use Slides from Files on the Insert menu:
- Open a new blank presentation.
- On the Insert menu, click Slides from Files.
- In the Slide Finder dialog box, browse to your corrupt file.
- Click Insert All.
If the corrupted slides successfully add then you can apply your older slides format to correct the formatting.
2. Open the presentation in Microsoft Office Word.
- Open Word.
- On the File menu, click Open.
- In the Open dialog box, click the arrow next to the Files of Type box at the bottom of that dialog box, and then click Recover Text From Any File.
- Navigate to your corrupt file, select it, and then click Open.
Use next step if this step get failed to repair corrupt PowerPoint files.
3. Move the file to a different place.
Try to copy the file to a different place like different computerâs hard drive, different drive on your computer and then try to open it again.
Use next step if this step get failed to repair corrupt PowerPoint files.
4. Try Third Party PowerPoint Recovery Tools
Sometimes above steps does not repair everything in your presentation. In this case you should consider a third-party PowerPoint recovery tool. These tools are specially design to repair corrupt PowerPoint presentations.
Conclusion: To get rid of all above steps, you should daily update your backup as it is the best way to prevent file corruption.
Monday, September 29, 2014
How to Solve “This file is not in a recognizable format” Error of MS excel
-->
MS excel is one of the most importantspreadsheet application for computer users. Storing and managing data is very easy with Ms excel. All important data saved inside these excel sheet. Imaging the situation in which you are trying to open an important excel sheet but could not do so, it gives some error. These errors means that your spreadsheet is get corrupt and you need to repair it to repair your valuable data. Excel recovery is required to repair this damaged .xls sheet.
Microsoft offer solution for corrupt excel sheet where you have to link the corrupt spreadsheet with news one. But this solution work hardly ever. So here I am going to explain a solution to easy repair of damaged excel sheet.
Follow the steps given below to:
- Open an undamaged workbook and a new workbook.
- In the Insert menu of new workbook find hyperlink and create link with undamaged workbook. Now close undamaged workbook.
- The link in cell A1 displays the path to the non-corrupted file. Edit the formula in cell A1 by substituting the corrupted file name for the existing one.
- If it works, the corrupted file will open. In this case, copy the formula down and across until the link returns blank cells.
- Select the data, copy it, and choose Paste Special from the Edit menu. In the resulting Paste Special dialog box, click Values and click OK to paste the data over itself. Doing so removes the link formula, but the values returned by the link remain.
Recover Data from corrput PDF file by copy data from a damaged fileinto a new file
-->
PDF files are known as one of the most secure data files because owner can set different access levels for different type of uses. PDF documents need less memory space than other documents so these can be easily send through email. But these secure acrobat pdf documents may get corrupt at the time of download or upload. In the case of PDF file corruption there are two possibilities 1) Corrupt file will open but original data will not shown 2) Corrupt file will not open.
In both type of corruption you need to apply some PDF repair methods or use PDF recovery software to access your original data.
Few methods are available to repair corrupt PDF documents. You can copy and paste corrupt data in to new file is one such method. This method works for few cases not for severely damaged cases.
Following are the steps to apply above method..
- Open the damaged file, and then choose Object > Path > Cleanup to remove unwanted items (for example, stray points, unpainted objects, empty text paths) from the artwork.
- If the original file contains multiple layers, choose Paste Remembers Layers from the Layers Panel pop-up menu to ensure the artwork appears on the same layers when you paste it into the new file.
- Using the Selection tool, drag a marquee around the artwork.
- Choose Edit > Copy.
- Choose File > New to create a new file.
- In the new file, choose Edit > Paste In Front to paste the artwork in the correct position on the page.
- Choose File > Save.
This method will probably repair your corrupt PDF file. In case this method didnt work for you then use appropriate PDF repair software to get access of original data. You need to select an advanced repair tool which is compatible with your system configuration.
Sunday, September 28, 2014
Why MS Word File Crash on Opening
Is MS word document close soon after you open it? If yes, then read this post to know the cause and solution to overcome this problem.
It might be possible that template got corrupted but other there could be more reasons. So let us first verify Is this due to template corruption or something else.
To verify it, Start MS word without template and add-ins loaded. Follow the steps to do so.....
Note: Remember to place space before foreword slash. In case you miss it then error can occur, “/a” stands for troubleshooting tool only. If your error got fix then it means either your Normal template or one of the files in Words Startup path are probably corrupt, so you need to try these steps:
1) Try to Rename the Normal template. In word 2007 normal template have .dotx or dotm extension.
2) For example, try to rename Normal.dot to Normal.old. It is advisable to keep only one Normal.dot file.
In case it doesnt work for you then try another method given below:
If you have template corruption problem then above written method will resolve it and word file will stop crashing. But in the case document behave in the same way then it signify that cause of problem is different and you need to apply suitable method to fix word file overcome.
It might be possible that template got corrupted but other there could be more reasons. So let us first verify Is this due to template corruption or something else.
To verify it, Start MS word without template and add-ins loaded. Follow the steps to do so.....
- Click Start and then click on Run.
- Write winword.exe /a in Run box and hit enter.
Note: Remember to place space before foreword slash. In case you miss it then error can occur, “/a” stands for troubleshooting tool only. If your error got fix then it means either your Normal template or one of the files in Words Startup path are probably corrupt, so you need to try these steps:
1) Try to Rename the Normal template. In word 2007 normal template have .dotx or dotm extension.
2) For example, try to rename Normal.dot to Normal.old. It is advisable to keep only one Normal.dot file.
In case it doesnt work for you then try another method given below:
- Move any file from Words startup path to other folder.
- Renaming any files in Words Startup path from [filename].dot to [filename].old.
- You can find the location Words Startup folder under Tools + Options + File location.
- If you have any doubts then move the files instead renaming them.
If you have template corruption problem then above written method will resolve it and word file will stop crashing. But in the case document behave in the same way then it signify that cause of problem is different and you need to apply suitable method to fix word file overcome.
Saturday, September 27, 2014
How to solve error message “Can not open file it does not seem to be a valid archive” of corrupt zip file
The extension of Zip files is . "Zip" or ".ZIP" file and MIME (Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions) media type application. Sometimes there are certain errors in Zip file, which occur due to some problems of the Internet. These errors usually occur when you download the Zip file, which leads to corruption. As a result of corruption, the data stored in the Zip file is inaccessible. To overcome such situations, you can restore data from a recent backup. However, if you do not stored a backup or the backup is corrupted, then you need to use zip recovery software files to recover your data.

Suppose you are trying to download attached zip files from outlook, you can not do so and get a message
"Can not open file: it does not seem to be a valid archive. If you downloaded this file, try downloading the file again."
The data stored in the zip file, becomes inaccessible after the occurrence of above error message.
Reason for error message:
The above situation usually occurs when HTTP compression is enabled in the Web Sites properties of Microsoft Internet Information Services (IIS) virtual server in outlook. As a result, when you download a zip file, IIS GZIP encoded as the browser client and passes the file directly to the decompression program, without GZIP decoding the file.
Resolution:
To solve the above problem you can chang the MIME type for the file. Zip application / x-zip-compressed to application / octet-stream. To do this, follow these steps:
* In the Start menu, select Internet Information Server (IIS) in the Administrative Tools option.
* Then, expand the server (local computer), click Web Sites and click Properties.
* Click on the MIME types and scroll through the list of registered MIME types to find the entry of . Zip.
* Then you must click zip Application/x- Zip compressed entry and then click Edit.
* Change the value of MIME type application / octet-stream.
* Finally, stop and restart the IIS Admin Service to apply the changes.
In most cases, given the previous resolutions will help you resolve problems with zip. But if the problem persists, then Zip Repair files to recover and restore corrupted data. The zip repair algorithms incorporate powerful scanning; these Zip Repair applications ensure complete recovery and restoration of your data.
"Can not open file: it does not seem to be a valid archive. If you downloaded this file, try downloading the file again."
The data stored in the zip file, becomes inaccessible after the occurrence of above error message.
Reason for error message:
The above situation usually occurs when HTTP compression is enabled in the Web Sites properties of Microsoft Internet Information Services (IIS) virtual server in outlook. As a result, when you download a zip file, IIS GZIP encoded as the browser client and passes the file directly to the decompression program, without GZIP decoding the file.
Resolution:
To solve the above problem you can chang the MIME type for the file. Zip application / x-zip-compressed to application / octet-stream. To do this, follow these steps:
* In the Start menu, select Internet Information Server (IIS) in the Administrative Tools option.
* Then, expand the server (local computer), click Web Sites and click Properties.
* Click on the MIME types and scroll through the list of registered MIME types to find the entry of . Zip.
* Then you must click zip Application/x- Zip compressed entry and then click Edit.
* Change the value of MIME type application / octet-stream.
* Finally, stop and restart the IIS Admin Service to apply the changes.
In most cases, given the previous resolutions will help you resolve problems with zip. But if the problem persists, then Zip Repair files to recover and restore corrupted data. The zip repair algorithms incorporate powerful scanning; these Zip Repair applications ensure complete recovery and restoration of your data.
Know the Causes of PDF File Corruption and How to Repair it
Like all other documents, PDF files may also get corrupt. There are several causes of PDF file corruption. When pdf file get damaged, it will generate several type of error messages. All error messages depend on causes of corruption. In the pdf file corruption situation you cannot open pdf documents or if it open then garbage data displayed. In this following post I will discuss about causes which leads to PDF file corruption and its solution.
Causes of PDF File Corruption: There could be much reason due to which PDF files may get corrupt. Some of most common causes are listed below.
- Improper Download Process: Most of PDF files are get corrupt due to incorrect downloading process. If Internet connection is disconnected while downloading PDF file then it has huge possibility that file get corrupt.
- Incorrect Creation process: There are several PDF creation programs are available some uses simple algo other uses very complicated process to create PDF file. It is possible that some programs could not able to create PDF file correctly so when user upload on Internet, it doesnt works and generate some error message.
- Incompatible Viewer Program: There are several PDF file viewer programs are available to view PDF. But all viewer programs don’t compatible with every PDF creator software. So it may get corrupt or generate incompatibility error.
- Improper system shutdown: While creating PDF file if suddenly system get shutdown then opened PDF document will damage.
- Virus attack: Like other documents virus or malware attack leads to PDF corruption.
Solutions: Corrupt PDF file can be repair and you can retrieve back your valuable data.Use these methods to repair corrupt PDF document.
- Adobe Acrobat has a built-in repair tool that automatically repairs PDF documents during the opening process. But this utility doesnt repair all damaged files. It works only when PDF files minor damaged.
- Third party PDF repair software will be very helpful if PDF file is severely damaged. These tools uses advanced and sophisticated algorithm to scan corrupt PDF file and remove corruption causes. Find advance PDF repair software which is compatible with your system configuration.
Hopefully the above post help reader to solve PDF corruption problem.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)